The morning is gray. I didn’t listen to any music on my way to work because lately every song I hear is just blah, just okay. Even my favorite stuff seems old which is odd for me, being such a music geek. But sometimes the vibe just isn’t right for music and silence ends up being the best music anyway. It was this morning. There was the shew of cars going by in the other direction and the hum of my own motor.

I drove down the road and drank my smoothie. I used to put spinach/kale in my smoothies but with the baby coming we’re trying to save money. The stuff we normally get is organic which is expensive so I’m trying this bagged pre-frozen spinach instead. It’s really disgusting. It clumps together and gets stuck in my windpipe. I even put it in the food processer beforehand and it still sticks together. So I’m driving down the road on a gray Friday morning listening to no music and choking on a smoothie.

I can’t spend too much time writing this because I have a lot of work to do today. I have a lot of data to go through which isn’t a bad thing. I like being busy. I don’t like being overly busy but a good pace is hard to beat. You want to be engaged, active, etc., otherwise work is boring. Boring is bad. Boredom causes all sorts of problems in the mind and body. Saul Bellow said “Boredom is the conviction you can’t change… the shriek of unused capacities.”

The shriek of unused capacities.

 

© Daniel Douglas

3 thoughts on “August 19, 2016

  1. Too bad about the spinach. Frozen Brussels sprouts are healthy. They are inexpensive and they are not so bad if they are not organic. Just boil or steam them and sprinkle lemon juice on them. This would be for lunch or dinner. I don’t think they would work too well while you’re driving to work. Hey, thanks for the visit and liking Floral Salsa.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment